Old Halloween Memories


It’s that time o’ year again…Halloween – the runner-up ultimate kid day of the calendar year (right behind Christmas morning).

These kids remind me of everything great about Halloween and the innocent fun of the classic American version of this holiday.

I’ll post a few memorable images in this blog to sweep you back to memory lane with me as I celebrate October 31, 2009.

Rain is in our forecast, and I can’t recall a rainy Halloween ever occurring in my life.  Perhaps it will relent for an hour or so right about time for Trick or Treat.  I’ll keep my fingers crossed.  Enjoy these in the meantime…

Yes, it’s the classic old jointed paper skeleton.  This item has adorned many a door and window over the years.   I wonder who came up with this one…he must have become a millionaire long ago.

We had this exact, same jointed paper pumpkin for years.   Don’t know why the pumpkin must wear the jester costume, but apparently it’s authentic…

An old Brach’s candy display.  There was a really cheesy Brach’s witch display they used to put up in the Alpha Beta grocery stores back in the 1970’s.  I think the witch was made out of a black plastic bag and she spun around on her broom.  If I could find a photo of it, my life would be nearly complete.  If I could find the actual display on eBay, my life would be complete.

It just doesn’t get any better than this.

And who didn’t get a few of these in the old pillowcase on Halloween?

 

This light-up ghost sat on my granny’s doorstep every Halloween.

Yep, the jointed paper figure came in pretty much every character.  I remember this one hanging around every year, too.  The black portions of the old paper ornaments like this had that fuzzy stuff on them, which gave you the heebie jeebies if you touched it.  It kind of made your head feel like it was turning inside-out.  Maybe it was just me.

1976…when heroes were heroes.  The Evel Knievel costume.  I was so there.  I had this costume.  There is a picture of me in mine lurking somewhere at the folk’s place.  I’ll dig it out to share someday.  Remember these super cheap-o plastic masks with the even cheaper plastic-ish vinyl-ish coveralls?  Those were the days.

And yes, one year I went as Underdog in this box costume.  Who didn’t?

The old costumes came in boxes that looked like this!!

This is the greatest Halloween sound effects album of all time.  Bought at Disneyland in the old record shop.  If you want to hear it, go here.

Well, that’s all for now.  I hope you have a safe and happy Halloween!  Don’t forget to have lots of candy for the kiddies…

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

